How do I disconnect from a target?

You can disconnect from a target at any time during a debugging session. You can also control the way a processor is left when a connection is terminated, by setting the disconnect mode in your board file, the *.bcd file associated with the target, or by using the Disconnect (Defining Mode) option.

image\exclaim.gifIf you are working with projects, any open projects do not close if you disconnect from a target. Even where a project is bound to the connection, it does not close if you disconnect. However, it is unbound and its details are not visible in the Process Control pane.

For a single connection, you can disconnect from a target in any of the following ways:

image\lamp.gif All options except Disconnect (Defining Mode)… disconnect according to the user-defined mode setting in your board file, or the *.bcd file associated with the target, or in the default mode (As-is with Debug) if no user-defined mode exists.

When you select Exit from the Code window File menu, you are asked whether you want to Disconnect Connection. If you do not disconnect the connection, it is maintained until another debugger session requires it, and the Target Vehicle Server (TVS) remains open.

If you have multiple connections, see Multiprocessing – Disconnecting from targets.

Related Topics