RealView
DebuggerWorkspaces enable you to define the environment that you use for a debugging session, so that you can use it again in the future, and share it with other users if you want to. For example, you can set up a workspace so that it automatically connects to a specified target, displays a specified set of windows and panes, and opens a specified project.
You can also switch between workspaces without exiting the debugger.
The first time you use RealView Debugger, it creates a default workspace which is then stored as rvdebug.aws in your default Realview Debugger home directory. You can choose whether you want to save any changes that you make to the workspace during a session as follows:
The simplest way to customize and save your workspace
is to enable Workspace
Save Settings on Exit
from the Code window File
menu. Your working environment is then saved to rvdebug.aws
when you exit RealView Debugger.
You can select the option Workspace
Save Workspace from
the File menu of the Code
window. The current state of the workspace is saved.
If you have the Save
Settings on Exit option set, the workspace is saved again when
you exit RealView Debugger.
You can select the option Workspace
Save As Workspace
from the File menu of the Code window. The current state of the
workspace is saved to the new workspace file that you specify.
If you want to use the same workspace next time, enable the option Workspace
Same
Workspace on Startup.
If this option is
not enabled, and you do not specify another workspace to start up with,
RealView Debugger starts without a workspace. If this option is enabled,
and you do not specify a workspace, rvdebug.aws
is opened by default.
The options Save Settings on Exit and Same
Workspace on Startup are enabled by default.
There are options that you can change to relate to a specific workspace.
For example, you can specify a board-file
to use. You can view and edit your workspace options by selecting Workspace
Workspace
Options… from the File menu of the
Code window. The options are displayed
in the Workspace Options window.
There are global workspace options that apply to all workspaces. You can view and edit these options by selecting Options… from the Tools menu of the Code window. The options are displayed in the Options window.
You can see some of
the global settings (rvdebug.ini)
in the Workspace Options window.
If you amend the default ALL group, you
are changing the settings for all workspaces, and the rvdebug.ini
file.
For information on how to open
RealView Debugger with a specific workspace, see the RealView
Debugger v1.8 Essentials Guide. For a more detailed description
of workspaces generally, see the RealView
Debugger v1.8 User Guide.